A archaeological excavation of the area surrounding the "Pioneer Cabin" was conducted by University of Toronto Professor Marti Latta in the summer of 1996. The goal was to discover who built the Log Cabin, one of the the oldest in Ontario. Historical records had suggested three possibilities Augustus Jones (Surveyor, 179l-1793); William Osterhout (United Empire Loyalist,1796-1803); and William Humphreys (Farmer,1845-1870). Although today it is named after Osterhout, the builder of the cabin is believed to he Humphreys, one of Scarborough's earliest settlers.
More recently, Elizabeth Fraser Williamson, an artist in residence at Guild Park, lived on the grounds in a cottage and made the historic log cabin her studio. She taught extensively and believed "it was her mission to make appreciation of sculpture accessible to the public". via article from www.insidetoronto.com